Magical magic

Welp… I’m feeling quite pleased with myself right about now. 8)

Background: I’ve been playing around learning card magic for a few months, and having a lot of fun with it. (And loving all the different decks of cards available…) My children rather differ in their responses to my magical efforts. My young son is a most receptive audience – gaping mouth, wide-eyed, hugely appreciative , asking for repeat performances, that sort of thing. My daughter, on the other hand…

Missy-moo exerts on me an anti-magic field. πŸ˜‰ If I’m going to sod up a trick, you can guarantee it’ll be when I’m doing it with her. And she looooooves that. xP She has said, repeatedly, and frankly, that her favourite tricks are the ones where I fail.

Hmmph. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, tonight, before saying goodnight, I did a trick with her. This one began its life for me with a trick I saw on the 52kards YouTube channel*. In the last few days I played around with a different story for it, and developed a quite different handling (with a bit more going on than in the trick Asad showed, in fact), all of which led to a very different feel to the end reveal – one I think seems in some ways more impossible. The mrs remains completely perplexed by it, despite seeing it a couple of times now (from inches away, mind), and the lad loved it.

But!… I did it for Missy-moo this evening, and did. Not. Fail. πŸ˜‰

And! I got a reaction from her exactly like that I get from the lad: the wide-eyed, gaping, joyous look! It felt really great. (Especially so since I’d changed and developed the trick; personalised it in a way, I suppose.)

It’s really encouraging, I must say. Perhaps persistence pays off. πŸ˜‰

*(not linked, because while I want to credit it, I want you to actually think before clicking, about whether or not you want to go and see magic tutorials; there are many on the youtubez, of varying quality, and running the risk of diminishing a person’s wonder in magic – so be sure before you go looking.)

Leave a Reply

